Tuesday, May 09, 2006

Master Coaches Survey to be exclusive voters on the Lott Trophy

The Lott Trophy was created in 2004 to honor college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.

The award is unique because it represents the first college football trophy to give equal weight to personal character as well as athletic performance. Additionally, it is the first national college football award to be based on the West Coast.

The Lott Trophy was named in honor of Ronnie Lott a two-time All-American for USC and College Football Hall of Fame Inductee. Ronnie Lott went on to win four Super Bowl rings with the San Francisco 49ers, ten trips to the Pro Bowl and a spot in Pro Football's Hall of Fame. He was a leader who had IMPACT both on the field as well as off.

The Master Football Coaches will bring their expert analytical skills to their exclusive vote for Lott Trophy finalists. The winner will be announced at the annual awards banquet on December 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, CA. It is the only college football award the Master Coaches will vote on, a decision that shows the prominence of this new award.

In 2004, the first recipient of the Lott Trophy was David Pollack of Georgia. Last year, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award.

Here is an interview from last year on ESPN's Hot List with Ronnie Lott and Coach Bill Walsh discussing the Lott Trophy, the qualifications necessary to win the award, and the three finalists - DeMeco Ryans, A J Hawk & Darryl Tapp: (Click on thumbnail to download & play video - make take a few minutes)

return to MCS Poll Blog
go to > Master Football Coaches website
go to > Master Basketball Coaches website


Anonymous Anonymous said...


What is it with girls fighting?



12:50 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home